h1

“strength for today, and bright hope for tomorrow…” -thomas chisholm

March 25, 2009

we all have stories. i have to remind myself of that so often. i find that when i’m drawn to dislike a person, if i will sit through their story, they become a real person to me. and i’m just not sure how to dislike a real person. it’s the stories i don’t yet know that are so easy to shrug off. this is probably exactly why i have no sympathy for drivers around me. surely they are just cars on the road, not real people with real celebrations, real questions, real complications, real hurt, real distractions. real stories. 

i have a story. it’s a wild one. one that some of you know, one that some of you don’t know. one that i’m not going to share here in this post. it’s a story filled with hurt and pain and loss, but because of those things it’s also filled with grace and rescue and faithfulness and freedom. 

on sunday morning, i was standing onstage doing a rehearsal before the services that day, and was suddenly struck by the words, “it’s time to write your story.” i’ve hesitated to do so for a long time now. that sentence has repeated itself in my heart since that morning. it’s time to write my story. that’s the first step to a project i’ve been calling “bright hope”. i can’t wait to let you in on more of it. 

stories. one thing about stories that i learned a long time ago is this: the worst part of your story is just as bad as the worse part of mine, because it’s the worst we’ve ever known. i need to be better about listening to and empathizing with the stories of the people around me. and to be careful not to compare them with my own. we are all blessed with stories that are filled with the faithfulness of God. i’m excited about sharing some of those with each other as this project gets underway in the days to come…

3 comments

  1. Stories heal as much as they reveal, don’t they?

    “…the worst part of your story is just as bad as the worse part of mine, because it’s the worst we’ve ever known.”

    This was beautiful. It’s so beautiful I want to read it printed on a page somewhere and say “I know the person who wrote this.”


  2. I have always wanted to hear your side of the story. What I do know is that you are pretty amazing, and a strong women. I know the Courage that this will take and I know the Grace that has been shown. So reveal what’s real and let others see the healing that God has graciously shown you. God Bless…


  3. WoW! This is awesome! And it’s so crazy because JUST yesterday I was thinking and struggling with the idea of how do I “tell” my story in order to help others around me or people that I don’t know. I feel that God has brought me through the storm and taught me so much that just to sit on it would be a shame. But how to I go about getting it out there is the question I have been wrestling with. I love reading your blogs! 🙂



Leave a Reply

